ADVISING AND PRE-REGISTRATION: Advising for the Spring 2016 semester will be October 28 - November 6. Please stop by your academic advisor's office to sign up for an advising appointment before October 28th.

NEW VERSION OF THE PRAXIS: The Educational Testing Service (ETS) recently announced the release of a new version of the Praxis School Psychologist test (5402) which will be administered beginning in September, 2014. Registration for the new exam will be available July 21.
Praxis School Psychologist Study Companion 5402

FOLLOW US On Facebook and Twitter for updates about the major, graduate programs, job opportunities, and interesting headlines related to psychology!

QR Code generator


The Department of Psychology, then called the Department of Psychology, Sociology and Philosophy, was one of the original academic departments at the founding of Francis Marion College in 1970. There were no plans to offer graduate education at FMU until community mental health practitioners expressed interest in advanced training; as a result, the Departments of Psychology and Sociology began in 1976 to offer a sequence of five applied courses termed the “Paraprofessional Option.” These programs have grown a great deal since 1976; however, small class sizes, close mentorship, and hands-on training remain a priority. Currently, the Department offers a rigorous undergraduate major in Psychology, as well as graduate degrees in Applied Psychology (Clinical/Counseling) and School Psychology.

To view "Through the Years" slideshow click here


The Psychology Department offers a M.S. degree in Applied Psychology (Clinical/Counseling) and a Specialist in School Psychology degree (S.S.P.). Students in School Psychology earn a Master of Science (M.S.) degree en route to the S.S.P. degree; the School Psychology Option does not offer a terminal M.S. degree. S.S.P. graduates typically go on to become school psychologists and earn LPES licensure in South Carolina. M.S. (clinical/counseling) graduates are eligible to be licensed as LPC’s in South Carolina, and they are employable in a variety of settings.

February 15th for Fall Entry (both programs). October 15th for Spring Entry (Clinical/Counseling only).

MEET OUR STUDENTS: We offer an M.S. in Applied Psychology degree and a Specialist in School Psychology degree. You can meet our students on the clinical page or the school psychology page!