The Psychology Graduate Student Association

During the Fall 2009 semester, graduate students in the FMU MSAP program, from both school and clinical/counseling options, organized to form the Psychology Graduate Student Association (PGSA), which is a registered campus organization. Faculty co-advisors are Dr. Crystal Hill-Chapman (School Psychology) and Dr. Erica James (Clinical/Counseling Psychology). Vonetta Woods and Nadeije Ahearn were the first elected Co-Presidents of PGSA. Other charter officers included Crystal McWhirter (Secretary/Historian), Megan Lowder (Treasurer), and Brian Lookadoo (Event Coordinator).

Each fall, school and clinical/counseling students convene to elect their leaders and plan activities for the year. The purpose of the PGSA is to “enrich the student educational experience and facilitate a community conducive to personal and professional growth that is supportive of scholarly pursuits, promotes philanthropy, and coordinates social and P4P 5K 3-9-13 - croppednetworking opportunities” (from the PGSA Constitution). Therefore, PGSA plans social activities as well as philanthropic endeavors. All graduate students are strongly encouraged to become active and involved members of PGSA. Information about meetings and activities is distributed by email, so please be sure that you have a current email address on file with the departmental Administrative Associate.


2015-2016 PGSA Officers 


(left to right): Michele Letter, Heather Kirby, Caitlin Siney,
Ashley Lowe, McKayla Gorman and Brandi McGee

Co-President (School): Heather Causey
Co-President (Clinical/Counseling): McKayla Gorman
Social Chair: 
Philanthropy Chair: